Grand Larceny

Grand Larceny

— Violin, Alto Saxophone, Snare Drum, Hi-Hats and Live Electronics —

Score, Parts and Electronics available from Voice House Publishing

Program Note:

Based on an idea by SAXIMUS, Grand Larceny concerns an exploration of speed metal. The uncompromising intensity, careful construction & virtuosic technical level that characterize this genre make a suitable prize for theft by SWARMIUS. Props to all notorious music criminals bent on implanting mosh pits into the edifice of the classical establishment.

Grand Larceny — a musical bank heist: Grab the money, race for the door, jump into the getaway car, knock over fire hydrant as you tear around the corner, cops & sirens in hot pursuit.

Grand Larceny was composed for SWARMIUS

Jozefius Vaatierz Rattus, October 3, 2007


SWARMIUS comprises SAXIMUS (Saxophones), Fiddlus (Violin), Crotalius Redfoot (Percussion, and Jozefius Vattierz Rattus (Electro-Acoustic Composer/Laptop performer). The quartet is committed to expanding the avant-garde classical literature to encompass a New Relevance. The New Relevance demands works that are non-elitist, rigorous, and multi-level: works that are simultaneously accessible and challenging. To this end, SWARMIUS combines traditional virtuosity with a search for new timbres, performance practices, and 21st century cross-cultural aesthetic reflection. It challenges timeworn, outmoded norms for the uses of classical music, the means by which it is presented, and the venues in which it is experienced. SWARM unites performers and composer, focuses them on a common goal, and puts them onstage together. SWARMIUS is in residence at the School of Music and Dance at San Diego State University, home for 17 years of the maverick genius Harry Partch Ensemble. SWARMIUS strives to emulate Partch’s uncompromising aesthetic values.

© 2006 Joseph Waters
All Rights Reserved