— Alto Saxophone, Violin, Vibraphone, & Laptop —
Score, Parts and Electronics available from Voice House Publishing

Program Note:

Anonymous (Premier March, 2009) Based on a Persian dance rhythm, this work is a Funeral Dance. It is meant to celebrate with dignity the passing of someone loved and respected, not with sorrow but with solemnity mixed with passion. The music is an abstract narrative that portrays the last moments of semi-consciousness and the slipping into the void.

Joseph Martin Waters, November 18, 2009

Anonymous was composed for SWARMIUS



SWARMIUS comprises SAXIMUS (Saxophones), Fiddlus (Violin), Crotalius Redfoot (Percussion), and Jozefius Vattierz Rattus (Electro-Acoustic Composer/Laptop performer). The quartet is committed to expanding the avant-garde classical literature to encompass a New Relevance. The New Relevance demands works that are non-elitist, rigorous, and multi-level: works that are simultaneously accessible and challenging. To this end, SWARMIUS combines traditional virtuosity with a search for new timbres, performance practices, and 21st century cross-cultural aesthetic reflection. It challenges timeworn, outmoded norms for the uses of classical music, the means by which it is presented, and the venues in which it is experienced. SWARM unites performers, composer, and choreographer, focuses them on a common goal, and puts them onstage together. SWARMIUS is in residence at the School of Music and Dance at San Diego State University, home for 17 years of the maverick genius Harry Partch Ensemble. SWARMIUS strives to emulate Partch’s uncompromising aesthetic values.

© 2009 Joseph Waters
All Rights Reserved